мαяяιαgє вℓσg

Can You Love Your Spouse Anyway

“If I could speak in any language in heaven or on earth but didn’t love others, I would only be making meaningless noise.” 1 Corinthians 13:1 (NLT) – Spiritual gifts, going to church, praising God, etc., all mean nothing if you don’t love. You can’t love God and hate your spouse. That is living a lie. It is just a charade. Make loving God and your spouse your highest goal above ALL else.

“Love…endures through EVERY circumstance.” 1 Corinthians 13:7 Christian love endures because it is based on Christ, not your spouse’s performance. Love is an action. People are imperfect and you may not always feel love, but if you have true Christian unconditional Agape love, you will always be able to put love into action. If you can’t, you need to examine yourself and see which spirit you are letting control your life. Who truly is Lord?

“Let love be your highest goal.” 1 Corinthians 14:1 (NLT)

There is a song by the group Sidewalk Prophets called “You Love Me Anyway.” A portion of the lyrics caught my attention:

I am the thorn in Your crown, but You love me anyway
I am the sweat from Your brow, but You love me anyway
I am the nail in Your wrist, but You love me anyway
I am Judas’ kiss, but You love me anyway

The words brought to my mind Jesus’ words in John 13:34 (NIV) – A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.

Jesus loved us even though we killed him. And now He asks us to extend that love to others.

Can you love your spouse anyway? Despite all they’ve done to hurt you? Despite everything that has gone wrong? That is God’s call to us. Love him anyway. Love her anyway.

~Sade

No Responses to “Can You Love Your Spouse Anyway”

Leave a Reply

